Saturday, 13 January 2018

SLJ WK 6 bonus Activity

Bonus Activity: #EarnTheFern
After the Treaty of Waitangi was signed, New Zealand became a British colony. A lot of other countries in the world are also British colonies including Canada, South Africa, Australia, India and Malaysia. As a group they were, and still are, called the ‘Commonwealth’ countries. way back in days , a man named Melville Marks Robinson was asked to organize a sporting competition for people in the Commonwealth countries. It is called the Commonwealth Games. The first ever event took place in Hamilton, Canada in 1930.

Athletes from New Zealand have Attempt in the Commonwealth Games for years. In the most recent Commonwealth Games event in Glasgow, Scotland New Zealand athletes have won a total of 45 medals. The next Commonwealth Games will be held in 2018 in the Gold Coast, Australia. Hundreds of athletes are competing for the chance to represent NZ at the games (to 'win the Fern').

No comments:

Post a Comment